top of page
Writer's picturePreston Potts

Thriving on and off the field

Parramatta Eels halfback Tallara Bamblett is embracing the change of lifestyle one year out of high school, roaring her way through the Tarsha Gale Cup finals.


The dream of becoming an NRLW player is gaining momentum for Tallara. She believes the expansion of the women’s competition is giving her hope like never before. The NRLW has now expanded to ten teams with the inclusion of the Cowboys, Wests Tigers, Raiders, and Sharks with the introduction of a contract window.


In an article on Sporting News, NRL CEO Andrew Abdo insisted that "This is a watershed moment for rugby league", "For the first time, female players have the opportunity to sign multi-year contracts with 10 NRLW clubs, which provides these players with long-term security and certainty."


The NRLW investment is exciting news for Tallara. "I would drop my job with no hesitation. I love rugby league, and playing full time would improve my overall game,” she said.



The 2023 NRLW expansion will also include a Collective Bargaining Agreement, agreed on by the NRL and the Rugby League Players Association.


This means the salary cap will be $1.5 million in 2027, with a minimum wage of $50,600. Policies will include pregnancy and parental arrangements."


Tallara knows that if she played full-time, she would need a respectable pay packet by 2027. "I hope I am at my peak and get over the minimum wage. Receiving $60-70 thousand would allow me to be a full-time athlete,” she says.





Currently, Tallara juggles the joys of working with children ages 3-5 at Active Beginnings and Rugby League. "I have found Active Beginnings to be a great job as it involves sports. I find it exciting to work with young kids, and I love it when I see them accomplish new skills," Tallara says. "It doesn’t feel like work; it's flexible and allows me to train".



A proud Indigenous Australian, Tallara insists it would be a "dream come true" to represent Australia. For now, Tallara has her eye on becoming an NRLW development player, making the NSW City team, and saving up for a trip to Europe.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page